Reviews

What people are saying about us

First Time Visitor

Visited Cala’s for the first time and it definitely will NOT be our last! Loved the ambiance of the restaurant, friendly service, and menu options.

Jenny B., October 7, 2015 via Yelp

5 Stars

It's a casual place. Usually busy. Not too loud. Food is delish! I had dessert first cause I knew from the description I wouldn't want to be too full to eat it.

Catrina M., May 12, 2016 via Yelp

5 Stars

I love this place very easy and quick I love the buffalo wings and I love the grilled ceased the staff is so friendly they are amazing…

Lauren C., October 1, 2015 via Yelp

Great Chowder!

Great chowder! It was not too rich and had a lot of flavor! My favorite after the beach.

Jenna H., August 19, 2015 via Yelp

Best Bar Ever!

Best bar ever. The drinks are great and the food is so much better than what you would expect at a bar. Fine ingredients, imaginative menu presented in a gourmet fashion, yet down-to-earth staff and atmosphere.

Nutty P., August 24, 2011 via Yelp

“Great lobster rolls!”

Stopped in for lobster rolls — wasn't disappointed. Very fresh, very good! A lively atmosphere with friendly service.

Diane M., May 14, 2016 via TripAdvisor

“Casual Fun”

Good place for casual dining and drinks. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Close to train and harbor.

Jeffrey K., March 15, 2016 via TripAdvisor

The Boston Globe

Cala’s in Manchester offers pub food, elegant entrées

…But Lauri would not let me leave until I promised we would return soon for Cala’s peanut butter icebox cake ($8), a vanilla wafer crust filled with peanut butter mousse and chocolate ganache. It won’t be a difficult promise to keep.

Brion O'Connor August 25, 2013 (The Boston Globe)

Boston Magazine

Eating Suburbia

Reasonable wait times. Affordable prices. Plenty of parking. And yet dining outside the city limits still seems unthinkable for some urban foodies. The stigma seems especially unfair when you consider that some of the region's best chefs are working their magic in suburban kitchens. So we set off to scour the large and small towns around Boston—from Haverhill to Quincy, Lynn to Cape Cod—to uncover their most delicious destinations, places where culinary innovation and professionalism are thriving, thank you very much. So if you thought the only great restaurants were in the city … think again. The North From Haverhill to Lynn, Winchester out to Gloucester, the northern ’burbs are luring some of Boston’s best chefs. And while the atmosphere may be more about scenery than scene, the food is buzz-worthy. ... 8 | Cala’s Manchester-by-the-Sea’s newest joint has the spunk of a little sister looking to impress the older kids. In the center of town surrounded by fine-dining options, Cala’s shouts out with a boisterous atmosphere, a young staff, and a menu packed with ambitious ingredients. Like its (older) sister Alchemy, in Gloucester, Cala’s appeals to the masses; there are pizzas, sandwiches, and salads along with grown-up dishes, such as lobster over sweet corn risotto, all reasonably priced. It’s by no means gourmet, but still a terrific place to please a crowd. 7 Beach St., Manchester-by-the-Sea, 978-525-3304.

Boston Magazine May 14, 2006 (Boston Magazine)